Leanne Tennant Award

Leanne Tennant Wins QLD Music Awards

With numerous category nominations in last nights 2015 Queensland Music Awards for her song ‘Bearing The Crown’ including ‘Country’ and ‘Song of The Year’, Leanne Tennant stepped into the spotlight last night taking out the 2015 ‘Blues/Roots’ award.

“I am over the moon about winning a Qmusic award last night. It’s a huge deal to me and my little word. I’m equally excited that my lost phone was handed into the Gap police station. Cheers universe.” Said, Leanne Tennant the morning after celebrating her Queensland Music Award victory.

Tennant, a Cairns local is renowned for her dark twist on country, which seethed through her 2014 album ‘Pull Up Your Britches’. After a single tour which saw her play Tamworth Country Music Festival, Leanne Tennant is hitting the road again to promote her latest single ‘Franklin Street’, a gorgeous string filled cut from her 2014 debut record.

Franklin Street is a stirring single, full of reverb filled guitar, bluesy vocals and rousing cello and violin parts from Georgie Stevenson and Simon McMenamin. The track manages to capture both the intimacy of Leanne’s acoustic performance as well as the breadth of the full band in such a way that subtlety tugs on your emotions with her yearning lyrics. With lyrics that are bursting with stories about “everything from movies, to real life experiences – even made up characters” says Tennant, her radiant lyrics are accompanied with dark overtones which give her a sound self-described as ‘horror-country’. This intriguing blend can be heard throughout her album, but most notably on her last single Black Snake Calls.

Pull Up Your Britches was launched in Tennant’s hometown, Cairns where it was recorded and produced by Mark Myers (The Middle East) at Big Sister studios. The album consists of an all-star mixed line up of musicians including, Bill Chambers (The Hillbillykillers), Jordan Ireland (The Middle East/ Stolen Violin), Jack Venables (Osaka Punch) and Simon McMenamin (The McMenamins).

© Copyright 2024 | NQ Music Press