In The Element Header

In The Element – Who We Are

With a unique authentic sound, In The Element have wowed audiences as far south as Byron Bay to right here in North Queensland over the past year having notched up an impressive resume of performances playing at Wallaby Creek Festival, Eco Fiesta, Airlie Beach Music Festival and Tablelands Folk Festival. Featuring two sets of brothers, the band create a diverse indie/reggae/soul fusion with heartfelt lyrics and pop laden tracks that swing between light and dark.

The musical journey of In The Element is showcased beautifully in their debut five track effort ‘Who We Are’ due for release this Friday 20th November at Cairns Dinner Theatre.

Produced by Mark Myers (The Middle East/Emma Louise) the EP features a buffet of ambient breakdowns, sweeping sythns, hard hitting guitars and lush four part harmonies. Weaving funk guitar  and complementing duet vocals in opening track ‘Who We Are’ hook the listener right in for an uplifting affair continuing the mood  into ‘I’m Alive’, again highlighting both James Stewart and Broden Tyrrell lead vocal qualities.  Guitarist Neil Stewart’s syncopated runs in ‘One In A Million’ get you up off your feet  while brother James’ hip hop influenced verse add a nice colour to the funk rock stomp. A heartfelt approach in ‘All We Love’ shows the bands strong writing ability and is strengthened by producer Mark Myers attention to detail, giving the band a fully detailed scope to show each members individual talents. The ever tight bass and drum combination of Warrigo Tyrrell and Tristan Barton shines bright in ‘She Makes My Heart Go’ with a heavy rock opening merging into a reggae like festival groove for the verses, something only a well-rehearsed band with strong inner connection can master.

Although the release seems like a long time coming for In The Elements fans, the band did only form in 2013 when brothers James and Neil Stewart started jamming with guitarist and vocalist Broden Tyrrell while all three were studying music at Tropical North Queensland Tafe in Cairns. Shortly after Broden suggested inviting his younger brother Warrigo to play bass for the band and as Neil puts it “Little did we know how gangster he was!” The young musical prodigy receiving rave reviews from audiences due to his remarkable skill for his age. Renowned local drummer Tristan Barton later joined the group in 2014 helping the boys take their live performances to another level.

Developing a large collection of material after a solid run of gigging down the East Coast; notably playing at Ric’s Bar in Brisbane and The Brewary in Byron Bay, the band spent a two week period at Big Sister Studios in Cairns with highly regarded producer Mark Myers on what would become their debut EP ‘Who We Are’.

Neil Stewart : “It was our first time in the studio so we didn’t know what to expect but after the first day with Mark we were completely amazed at what was coming together. It was such a calm and relaxed environment and he really took the time to work on fine tuning parts, or coming up with new ideas to make our songs a bit more colourful. We all feel very privileged to work with Mark and are super happy with the outcome”.

To be launched at the Cairns Dinner Theatre this Friday evening, the lads are putting on a huge showcase of musical talent featuring Crown The Humble (Gold Coast) and local supports The Taste, Greta Stanley, The Dialers and DJ Miss EnV

“We’ve got a massive line up of local muso’s playing; who we are so grateful for. Another incredible band  “Crown The Humble” are flying up from the Gold Coast especially for our event. These guys are huge and are rockin’ their way up! Be sure to get in early because the place will pack out! Doors open at 5:30pm”.

In The Element – Who We Are EP Launch. Friday 20th November at Cairns Dinner Theatre – 82 Lake St Cairns (above Woolworths). Support from Crown The Humble (GC), The Taste, Greta Stanley, The Dialers and DJ Miss EnV. $15 Cover charge. Doors open 5.30pm. Show starts 6.30pm. Check the event page for further details.

Mitch Sullivan

© Copyright 2024 | NQ Music Press